Every year, thousands of car accidents take place in the Grand Canyon state. However, you can greatly reduce your financial risk by complying with legal insurance requirements.
Learn more about what legal insurance requirements apply in Arizona below.
Buying Car Insurance in Arizona
As in other states, it’s illegal to drive without car insurance in Arizona. And, given that Arizona is a fault state for car insurance purposes, driving without insurance could turn into an expensive mistake if you damage someone else’s property, or cause them injury.
Liability insurance is the type of insurance that covers another person’s damages if you cause an accident.
In Arizona, it’s required by law for every driver to have active liability insurance—whether you drive a car, motorcycle, or commercial vehicle.
The minimum amount of liability insurance you’re required by law to carry is:
- Bodily Injury – $15,000 is the minimum requirement for one person harmed in an accident.
- Total Bodily Injury – You must maintain up to $30,000 total liability coverage for multiple people in an accident
- Property Damages – Finally, your insurance must include a minimum of $10,000 in property damages.
Because it is against the law to drive without the required amount of insurance, you should be wary of the potential punishments you can face, such as fines and possible loss of license.
However, because Arizona is a fault state for insurance purposes, it’s important to remember that someone else’s insurance can also pay for your damages when they’re responsible.
Recovering a car accident settlement isn’t automatic, however. If you have questions about insurance, fault, or recovering money for your car accident, an experienced attorney can help.
Contact a Car Accident Lawyer
Need help from a lawyer? A car accident attorney with The Zachar Law Firm, P.C. can help.
Call us at 602-494-4800 or fill out the form on our website to learn more.